Mary Mulvihill Memorial Association Inaugural AGM, 23 November 2016 (IFI seminar room at 7.30pm) Minutes (incorporating amendment approved at subsequent AGM)

Present:	Margaret Kelleher (Chair), Therese Caherty, Brian Dolan (Observer for Part 1), Anne FitzGerald, Anna Heussaff, Nóirín Mulvihill (Observer for Part 1), Ena Prosser, Cormac Sheridan, Brian Trench
Apologies:	Marion Palmer, Anne Mulvihill

Nóirín opened the meeting by expressing her thanks, and that of her sister Anne and Brian, for the generosity and support of those who had brought Mary's legacy to the point of establishing the Association that evening. She acknowledged the sensitive and caring way in which issues had been addressed, noting how supportive this had been to Anne, Brian and herself.

Part 1

1. Chairperson's address

Margaret thanked Nóirín for her kind words and welcomed all to the meeting.

2. Approval of Agenda

The agenda was approved.

3. Election of tellers

The meeting agreed that the election of tellers would not be required.

4. Confirmation of membership

The following were noted as fully paid-up Members of the Association:

Therese Caherty

Anne FitzGerald

Anna Heussaff

Margaret Kelleher

Marion Palmer

Ena Prosser

Cormac Sheridan

Brian Trench

Margaret advised the meeting that Aileen O'Meara and Patricia Deevy, who had been involved in earlier meetings of the informal group, had indicated that due to other commitments they would be unable to participate actively in the work of the Association at this time. They had, however, expressed a willingness to help on specific issues should their expertise be of assistance.

The meeting expressed its appreciation of Aileen's and Patricia's contributions to date and their willingness to help in the future. Following a discussion, it was agreed that, once the Association had got established on a firmer footing, membership could be open to others who were supportive of the Association's aims, noting that membership need not necessarily entail involvement at an Executive level.

5. Approval of membership fee

An annual membership fee of €5 was approved.

6. Adoption of Association Overview and Governing Instrument

The meeting, noting the sign-off from its legal advisors MHC, adopted the proposed Association Overview and Governing Instrument, which had been circulated with the papers for the meeting, subject to the correction of a number of identified typographical errors.

7. Election of Officers

The following nominations to Officer positions were approved by the meeting:

Chair: Margaret Kelleher: proposed by Anna Heussaff; seconded by Cormac Sheridan.
 Treasurer: Ena Prosser: proposed by Therese Caherty; seconded by Marion Palmer.
 Secretary: Anne Fitzgerald: proposed by Marion Palmer: seconded by Anna Heussaff.

8. Election of Executive Members

The following Members were elected to the Executive, in all cases proposed by Margaret Kelleher and seconded by Anne FitzGerald:

Therese Caherty
Anne FitzGerald
Anna Heussaff
Margaret Kelleher
Marion Palmer
Ena Prosser
Cormac Sheridan
Brian Trench

The meeting then adjourned to enable the newly-elected Executive to hold its first meeting.

Part 2

9. Honorary Members

The meeting noted the election of the following as Honorary Members by the Executive at its meeting held on 23 November 2016:

Brian Dolan

Anne Mulvihill

Nóirín Mulvihill

Marlene Meyer

Phil McGrath

Kitty Kelly

Josephine Funge

10. Further election of Executive members

The following Members were elected to the Executive, in all cases proposed by Margaret Kelleher and seconded by Anne FitzGerald:

Anne Mulvihill Nóirín Mulvihill

11. Nomination of Association Patron

The meeting unanimously nominated Brain Dolan as Patron of the Association.

12. Financial and Banking Arrangements

As this was the Inaugural AGM there was no detailed financial report to present to the meeting. By way of information, Ena advised that a Tax Certificate for the Association had now been issued

which would clear the way for the Association's name to replace hers and Brian Dolan's name on the bank account. The meeting noted the Association's current bank details as:

Bank: AIB, IFSC Branch, Dublin 1

Sort code: 93-33-84 Account: 95138-010

Signatories: Dr Brian P Dolan & Ms Ena Prosser

Ena circulated the most recent bank statement, noting the opening balance for the Association as €31,081.73.

The meeting agreed that a financial report would be a standing item at all Executive meetings.

13. Election of Auditors and setting audit fee

The meeting approved an auditor and provision for fees as outlined in a memorandum circulated by Ena with the papers for the meeting as follows:

C O Sullivan & Co, Chartered Accountants Quaestor Management Services Ltd 50 Fortfield Park, Terenure Dublin 6W

€1K + VAT for account preparation and TAX registration for 2016/17.

There being no other business Margaret thanked all for their participation and closed the meeting.

Actions:

- 1. Ena and Brian to contact the bank to seek to change the name of the Association's bank account.
- 2. Margaret and Anne to write to those non-Executive members who had been elected as Honorary Members.